Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Committee

The COE DEI Committee advises the Dean and College Leadership team on issues of diversity, equity and inclusion, as they relate to faculty, staff and students within the College of Engineering. The committee’s action items and conversations focus on campus climate, the UC Davis Strategic Plan and the goals of the College of Engineering.

The committee’s primary goals are:

  • Provide a safe environment for all staff by reviewing relevant campus and College policy and by promoting an inclusive campus climate.
  • Reduce implicit bias in faculty hiring, merit and promotional decisions.
  • Ensure equitable access to learning and education for all students.
  • Highlight the College of Engineering as a beacon of diversity, equity and inclusion where all students, faculty and staff are equipped to succeed.

Committee Members

Lamia Braun

Lamia Braun, Co-Chair

Development Assistant, Dean’s Office
lshajani@ucdavis.edu

 

 

 

Cindy Rubio González

Cindy Rubio-González, Co-Chair

Faculty Assistant to the Dean for Diversity and Inclusion, College of Engineering and Associate Professor, Computer Science
crubio@ucdavis.edu

 


 

Alex Villanueva

Alex Villanueva, Co-Chair

Communications Associate, Dean’s Office
anvillanueva@ucdavis.edu

 

 

 

Ahamed Md Shamim

Md Shamim Ahamed 

Assistant Professor, Biological and Agricultural Engineering
mahamed@ucdavis.edu

 

 

 

Zhaojun Bai

Zhaojun Bai

Professor, Computer Science
zbai@ucdavis.edu

 

 

 

Michele Barbato

Michele Barbato

Professor, Civil and Environmental Engineering
mbarbato@ucdavis.edu

 

 

 

Sherry Batin

Sherry Batin

R&D Engineer – ESDC, Dean’s Office
ssbatin@ucdavis.edu

 

 

 

Colleen Bronner

Colleen Bronner

Associate Professor of Teaching, Civil & Environmental Engineering
cebronner@ucdavis.edu

 

 

 

Yesenia Cervantes-Tucker

Yesenia Cervantes-Tucker

AvenueE – Director, Dean’s Office
ycervantestucker@ucdavis.edu

 

 

 

Camille Fink

Camille Fink

Senior Editor, CEE/UC Pavement Research Center
cnyfink@ucdavis.edu

 

 

 

Juliet Han

Juliet Han

Probat Roasting Fellow, Dean’s Office
jahan@ucdavis.edu

 

 

 

Michael Hill

Michael Hill

Professor, Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering
mrhill@ucdavis.edu

 

 

 

Valeria La Saponara

Valeria La Saponara

Professor, Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering
vlasaponara@ucdavis.edu

 

 

 

Greg Miller

Greg Miller

Professor, Chemical Engineering
grgmiller@ucdavis.edu

 

 

 

Jennifer Mullin

Jennifer Mullin

Assistant Professor of Teaching, Biological and Agricultural Engineering
jsmullin@ucdavis.edu

 

 

 

Randall O'Reilly

Randall O'Reilly

Professor, CS & Psychology / Neuroscience
oreilly@ucdavis.edu

 

 

 

Sabrina Oliver

Sabrina Oliver

Academic Personnel Specialist, Civil and Environmental Engineering
saboliver@ucdavis.edu

 

 

 

Joël Porquet-Lupine

Joël Porquet-Lupine

Assistant Professor of Teaching, Computer Science
jporquet@ucdavis.edu

 

 

 

Kevin Wayne Rusch

Kevin Wayne Rusch

Junior Specialist, Biomedical Engineering
kwrusch@ucdavis.edu

 

 

 

Zubair Shafiq

Zubair Shafiq

Associate Professor, Computer Science
zshafiq@ucdavis.edu

 

 

 

Sanjeevi Sivasankar

Sanjeevi Sivasankar

Associate Professor, Biomedical Engineering
ssivasankar@ucdavis.edu

 

 

 

Yayoi Takamura

Yayoi Takamura

Professor and Chair, Materials Science and Engineering
ytakamura@ucdavis.edu

 

 

 

Alin Wakefield

Alin Wakefield

Research & Graduate Studies Development Coordinator, Dean’s Office
amwakefield@ucdavis.edu

 

 

 

Lauren Worrell

Lauren Worrell

Graduate Program Coordinator, Civil and Environmental Engineering
lkworrell@ucdavis.edu