You are not currently logged in. To view all pages, click here to login.

Information Technology and Innovation Services Committee

  • There shall be an Advisory Committee on Information Technology and Innovation Services (ITIS) composed of one Senate representative from each department of the College of Engineering.  Additional membership, who serve as permanent ex officio members, will be composed of:  the Executive Director for Information Technology and Innovation Services in the College of Engineering, the Executive Assistant Dean for Administration and Finance, and the Associate Dean for Research and Graduate Studies.  The standard term of appointment for this committee is three years, though shorter terms may be served depending on individual circumstances.  Only non ex officio Senate members are voting members of this Committee.
  • The ITIS Committee shall select a Chair and Vice-Chair from among its non ex officio members during the spring term.  The Chair shall serve for two years and the Vice-Chair shall serve for one year.  The ITIS Committee shall elect the Chair and Vice-Chair by ballot of the Senate committee members following the normal procedures of the Davis Division of the Academic Senate (DD Bylaw 16(C)).  All Senate committee members with two years of remaining service will be eligible for Chair and all Senate committee members with one year or more of remaining service will be eligible for Vice-Chair.  The candidate receiving the highest number of votes shall be declared elected.  In cases of a tie vote, the determination shall be by lot.  The Chair is authorized to refer directly to the Dean of the College of Engineering or to the appropriate committee of the Faculty for any or all questions.  The Chair and Vice-Chair are responsible for coordinating the activities of the Committee with the ITIS Executive Director and producing annual reports.
  • The Committee shall set priorities and provide guidance and recommendations for the ITIS team and advise on the quality, efficiency, and innovation of the ITIS. The Committee shall provide specific input to the ITIS Executive Director on the performance and efficiency of each unit of the ITIS center.  The form of this will be in quarterly reports to the ITIS Executive Director, the Dean and the Department Chairs and a yearly review that is based on objective assessments derived from user surveys and time and use analyses. A format for actionable items may come in form of: protocols; prioritized list of objectives; action items derived from inputs from departments; action items derived from each of the ITIS units and introduced at each meeting from the ITIS Executive Director.
  • The Committee shall annually review the formula used to distribute IUC funds to each department’s instructional laboratories and make adjustments as needed to ensure equitable treatment for student computing needs across the College of Engineering.
  • The ITIS Executive Director shall act as a campus liaison for, and assist in the coordination of ITIS activities and innovations with other campus IT organizations, including the Technology Infrastructure Forum (TIF) and Deans Technology Council (DTC), College of Engineering ORUs, recharge facilities and other research centers. The ITIS Director will provide quarterly updates to the Committee on the IT related developments, activities, issues and innovations within these units.
  • The Committee will annually evaluate the extent of direct charging of IT staff to extramural grants and research the generation, return and reinvestment of indirect costs for IT support and determine whether each department is receiving sufficient IT services and support to meet the needs of their individual research enterprise.
  • The Committee will be responsible for annually assessing the usage (average and peak during each quarter) of computer teaching laboratories and compiling an inventory of the specialized software available in each of the teaching laboratories.
  • The Committee shall review departmental recommendations for the ITIS and evaluate the extent of innovation in the ITIS based on industry and academic computing standards in order to stay up to date on cutting edge technologies, identify new disruptive technologies on the horizon, and introduce best IT practices and strategies that have been successful at other major research universities.

Information Technology and Innovation Services Committee Members

Biological and Agricultural Engineering Andre Daccache
Biomedical Engineering Leonor Saiz
Chemical Engineering Ambarish Kulkarni
Civil and Environmental Engineering Boris Jeremic
Computer Science Jason Lowe-Power
Electrical and Computer Engineering Houman Homayoun
Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering Shima Nazari
Materials Science and Engineering Jeremy Mason
Ex Officio Steve Pigg/Elissa Roeser/Ralph Aldredge/ Raissa D'Souza
Administrative Support Nathan Benedicto