MINUTES REGULAR MEETING FACULTY OF THE COLLEGE OF ENGINEERING (DAVIS) May 19,2004

ORDER OF BUSINESS

- 1. Announcements by the President, Robert Dynes
- 2. Announcements by the Chair, Matthew K. Farrens
- 3. Announcements by Acting Dean, Karen McDonald
- 5. Special orders
- 6. Reports of special committees
- 7. Reports of standing committees
 - A. Committee on Student Development, Tom Young, Chair
 - B. Committee on Graduate Study, Zhaojun Bai, Chair
 - C. Committee on Research, Ruihong Zhang, Chair
 - D. Committee on Student Petitions, David Slaughter, Chair
 - E. Library Committee,
 - F. Committee on Undergraduate Educational Policy, Ron Phillips, Chair
 - G. Committee on Program Planning & Assessment, Ron Hess, Chair
- 8. Petitions of students
- 9. Unfinished business
- 10. New business

Secretary
Faculty of the College of Engineering

The meeting was called to order at 4:15 p.m. by Matthew Farrens

- 1. <u>Minutes</u> The minutes from the May 2003 Faculty meeting were approved and distributed this past summer
- 2. Announcements by the President -none
- 3. Announcements by the Chair Chair Farrens announced that everything is on track for the new class room building (Geidt Hall) which will be located where the temporary medical buildings are now, just north of Kemper Hall. Target occupation date is Fall of 2006. In addition, the issue of year round teaching is still being reviewed, and more information regarding that should be available next academic year.
- 4. Announcements by the Acting Dean –none
- 5. Special orders none
- 6. Reports of Special Committees none
- 7. Reports of Standing Committees
 - A. Committee on Student Development, Tom Young, Chair Attached Tom briefly outlined the attached report regarding what the committee worked on for the past year the college medalist and the commencement speaker.

- B. Committee on Graduate Study, Zhaojun Bai, Chair Attached Zhaojun gave a brief report on the committee's activities for the year, which included minor changes for graduate student travel awards.
- C. Committee on Research, Ruihong Zhang, Chair Attached Ruihong reported on the committee's activities for the past year that included new procedures for review of limited submission proposals and the Best Dissertation Award.
- D. Committee on Student Petitions, David Slaughter, Chair —Attached 992 Petitions were reviewed this year.
- E. Library Committee, , Chair No one was present to give a report of this committee's activities for the past academic year.
- F. Committee on Undergraduate Educational Policy, Ron Phillips, Chair —. Attached Ron gave a brief report on the committee's activities for the academic year. They met 10 times and discussed curriculum revisions and how the college would go about setting a "gate" for upper division courses, which may have to be done on a department by department basis.
- G. Committee on Program Planning and Assessment, Ron Hess, Chair Attached Ron stated that the committee met 5 times and discussed accreditation, the response from the previous ABET review and preparation for the next ABET review, Fall 2006.
 - 8. Petitions of Students -None
- 9. New Business– College Bylaws. Proposed changes by the Executive Committee
 - A. Clarification of the role of the Chair of the Executive Committee as Chair of the Faculty.
 - B. Proposed change for a quorum from a set number to a percentage based on faculty head count in the College.
 - C. Clarification on when the Chair of the Executive Committee will be selected for the following academic year in the charges for the Executive Committee.
 - D. The proposed combination of the Library Committee with the Research Committee.
 - E. The proposed combination of the Graduate Study Committee with the Committee on Student Development, and a name change for this combined committee to the Committee on Student Recruitment, Development and Welfare.
 - F. The addition of a college Awards Committee as a standing committee for the College.
 - G. Proposed changes to when a special committee may be formed at the request of the Executive Committee.

New business items A, B, C, D, F, and G, were all approved via voice by the faculty. Item E was further discussed and the final action voted on was to leave the new name for the committee, pull out the graduate committee items and keep the Graduate Study committee intact, but change the charges for this committee to state that this committee will be staffed by the graduate group/program chairs from each department, and to include review of post doctoral policy issues to their committee

Matt Farrens ran out of time and did not announce the members who will serve on the Executive Committee for academic year 2004/05. The following were submitted by the engineering department chairs.

Hector Baldis – Applied Science
Bryan Jenkins – Biological and Agricultural Engineering
Scott Simon – Biomedical Engineering
Alan Jackman – Chemical Engineering and Materials Science
Ross Boulanger – Civil and Environmental Engineering
– Computer Science
Richard Spencer – Electrical and Computer Engineering
Ron Hess – Mechanical and Aeronautical Engineering

Based on bylaw changes to the standing committees, the members and chairs of these committees will be determined at a later date and announced in the Fall of 2004.

The meeting adjourned at 5:00 p.m.